Work Requirements for Able-Bodied Medicaid Recipients

Joint Workshop

Senate Majority Policy Committee and Senate Health & Human Services Committee

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 | 9:30 a.m.

East Wing, Hearing Room 8E-B


Work Requirements for Able-Bodied Medicaid Recipients

Public Roundtable on School Safety – Hermitage, PA

Senate Majority Policy Committee
Public Roundtable

School Safety 

August 7, 2018 | 11:00 a.m. 

Artman Elementary School
Community Room
411 N. Hermitage Road
Hermitage, PA 16148


11:00 a.m.       Welcome and Opening Remarks  

  • Senator David G. Argall, Chairman, Senate Majority Policy Committee
  • Senator Michele Brooks
  • Senator Scott Hutchinson
  • Senator Mike Regan 

11:15 a.m.       Roundtable Discussion

  • Dawn Blaus, Elementary Teacher, Case Avenue Elementary School
  • Don Bovard, Operations and Training Officer, Crawford County EMA
  • Brandon Deppen, Chief of Police, Warren
  • William Gathers, Superintendent, Mercer Area School District
  • Matt Harris, Ex-PSP Officer; Founder, CHARACTER, BE ABOUT IT
  • Hendley Hoge, Superintendent, Lakeview School District
  • T.J. Hudock, Sr. Director, Behavioral Health, Sharon Regional Medical Center
  • Frank Jannetti, Director, Mercer County Emergency Management Agency
  • Eric Jewell, Chief of Police, Hermitage
  • Karen Jez, Superintendent, Titusville School District
  • John Lechner, Diversified Security Solutions
  • Tony Miller, Director, Mercer County Career Center
  • Raymond Omer, Superintendent, West Middlesex School District
  • Christopher Osborne, School Director, Reynolds School District
  • David Piuri, Beaver Valley F.O.P.
  • Tracy Reiser, Superintendent, Jamestown School Distirct
  • Steven Riggall, Medical Director, Inpatient Behavioral Health, Sharon Regional
  • John Sibeto, Superintendent, Reynold School District
  • Jarrin Sperry, Superintendent, Conneaut School District
  • Kevin Sprong, Director, Crawford County Career and Technical Center
  • Lou Squatrito, President, Hermitage F.O.P.
  • Amy Stewart, Superintendent, Warren School District
  • Brian Tokar, Superintendent, Greenville Area School District
  • John Vannoy, Superintendent, Sharpsville Area School District                    
  • Representative Parke Wentling
  • Michelle Young, Commodore Perry School District              

1:00 p.m.        Adjourn

Roundtable on Blight/Revitalization Issues

Senate Majority Policy Committee


Blight/Revitalization Issues 

September 13, 2017 | 10:00 AM

Magee-Womens Hospital of UPMC, Hamot Campus
118 East 2nd Street | Erie, PA 16507


10:00 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Senator David G. Argall, Chairman, Senate Majority Policy Committee
Senator Dan Laughlin

10:10 a.m. Roundtable Discussion

Sonya Arrington, Erie City Council
Jeremy Bloeser, Executive Director, Bayfront Eastside Task Force (BEST)
David Brennan, Erie City Council
John Buchna, Executive Director, Erie Downtown Partnership/Main Street Program
Heather Caspar, Executive Director, Sisters of St. Joseph Neighborhood Network
Dave Deter, Executive Director, Erie Redevelopment Authority
Edward DiMattio, Erie County Council District 6
Mark Dombrowski, VP, Government Relations, Erie Insurance
Sean Fedorko, Radius Co-Work
Anna Frantz, Executive Director, Our West Bayfront
Charles “Boo” Hagerty, Chief Development Officer, Hamot Health Foundation
Dr. Walter Iwanenko, VP of Academic Affairs, Gannon University
Vicki Leap, Chief of Staff, Representative Parke Wentling
Christina Marsh, Senior Vice President, Erie Insurance
Raymond Moluski, UPMC
Tim Necastro, President & CEO, Erie Insurance
Rick Novotny, Executive Director, Erie County Redevelopment Authority
Benjamin Pratt, Vice President, Growth Partnership, Erie Regional Chamber & Growth Partnership
Erika Ramalho, Government Relations, Gannon University
Jake Rouch, Vice President, Economic Development, Erie Regional Chamber & Growth Partnership
Amy Schmidt, Chief of Staff, Representative Ryan Bizzarro
Sheila Sterrett, Senator Pat Toomey’s office
Dr. Keith Taylor, President, Gannon University
Katrina Vincent, Director of Real Estate, Corry Redevelopment Authority
Chip Wachter, Kidder Wachter Architecture & Design
Tim Wachter, Knox Law Firm
Brett Wiler, Director of Research, Grants, and Business Outreach, Erie Regional Chamber & Growth Partnership
Kathy Wyrosdick, Director of Planning, Erie County
Beth Zewe, Edinboro University

11:50 a.m. Public Comment/Questions

12:00 p.m. Adjourn


Proposed State Correctional Institution Closures

Joint Hearing

Senate Majority Policy Committee, Senate Democratic Policy Committee and Senate Judiciary Committee

Monday, January 23, 2017 | 9:00 a.m.

Hearing Room No. 1
North Office Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120

9:00 a.m.         Welcome and Opening Remarks
Senator David G. Argall, Chair of Senate Majority Policy Committee
Senator Stewart Greenleaf, Chair of Senate Judiciary Committee
Senator Lisa Boscola, Chair of Senate Democratic Policy Committee
Senator Daylin Leach, Democratic Chair of Senate Judiciary Committee

9:10 a.m.         Department of Corrections
Executive Deputy Secretary Shirley Moore Smeal
Chris Oppman, Deputy Secretary of Administration
Tabb Bickell, Regional Deputy Secretary
Dr. Bret Bucklen, Director of Planning, Research and Statistics
Attachment 1 | Attachment 2 | Attachment 3 | Attachment 4 | Attachment 5 | Attachment 6
Secretary John Wetzel            

10:10 a.m.       Pennsylvania State Corrections Officers Association
Jason Bloom, President
Tim Walsh, Executive Vice President

10:35 a.m.       Pennsylvania Prison Society
Ann Schwartzman, Executive Director

10:55 a.m.       Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association
David Freed, Cumberland County District Attorney

11:15 a.m.       Community Leaders

  • 11:15 a.m.       SCI Frackville
    Representative Neal Goodman (D-Schuylkill)
    Representative Jerry Knowles (R-Berks/Carbon/Schuylkill)
    Representative Mike Tobash (R-Schuylkill/Dauphin)
    Frank Zukas, President, Schuylkill Economic Development Corporation
    Bill Hanley, Senior Economic Development Specialist, Congressman Cartwright
    Champ Holman, Supervisor, Ryan Township
  • 11:30 a.m.       SCI Mercer
    Matt McConnell, Mercer County Commissioner
    Randy Seitz, Executive Director, Penn Northwest
    Martin Aubel, retired SCI Mercer employee
    Mercer Economic Impact
    Mercer Support Letters
  • 11:45 a.m.       SCI Pittsburgh
    Representative Jake Wheatley (D-Allegheny)
    Kevin Hefty, Vice President of SEIU Healthcare PA
  • 12:00 p.m.      SCI Retreat
    Stefanie Salavantis, Luzerne County District Attorney
    Peter Wanchisen, Newport Township Manager
    David Pedri, Luzerne County Manager
  • 12:15 p.m.      SCI Waymart
    Wendell Kay, Wayne County Commissioner
    Mary Beth Wood, Executive Director, Wayne Economic Development Corporation
    Debbie Gillette, Executive Director, Chamber of the Northern Poconos

12:30 p.m.      Adjourn

Written testimony submitted –