School Safety Grants Awarded to Area Communities, Brooks Announces

HARRISBURG (April 30, 2019) In an ongoing effort to better protect our children in local schools, school safety grants were awarded today to six school districts in Mercer, Erie, and Warren Counties, Sen. Brooks announced today.

The school districts that were awarded grants include:

  • Northwestern School District
  • Commodore Perry School District
  • Hermitage School District
  • Lakeview School District
  • Sharon City School District, and
  • Warren School District.

The grants were awarded by the School Safety and Security Committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) as part of a program created by Brooks and her fellow lawmakers in 2018.

“While it is so disheartening that today’s world necessitates this focus, I am happy that these grants have been awarded to our local better protect our children and school staff,” Sen. Brooks said.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

A total of approximately $40 million was awarded for 234 projects throughout the state in the current round of funding. In total, the School Safety and Security Grant Program will provide $52.5 million in school safety grants and $7.5 million in community violence prevention grants in the current fiscal year.

Every school district in the state that submitted a meritorious application was awarded a $25,000 grant last October to improve school safety. The grants announced today were awarded on a competitive basis to schools that were seeking additional funding.  PCCD received 638 applications totaling $177.6 million for school safety projects in this fiscal year.


Diane McNaughton
(717) 787-1322

Back to Top