Sen. Brooks Announces School Safety Grants

HARRISBURG Feb. 26, 2020 –Sen. Michele Brooks said school safety grants totaling close to $2.6 million were awarded today to 24 school districts in Crawford, Mercer, Erie and Warren Counties, in addition to the Northwest Tri-County Intermediate Unit (IU).

“The safety of our children, schools and overall communities is paramount,” said Sen. Brooks. “I would like to thank our schools for submitting such strong, solid applications for school safety grants.”

School districts and other entities that will receive grants include:

  • Conneaut
  • Crawford Central
  • Penncrest
  • Corry Area
  • Fort LeBoeuf
  • General McLane
  • Northwestern
  • Union City
  • Northwest Tri-County IU
  • Wattsburg Area
  • Wilmington Area
  • Commodore Perry
  • Farrell Area
  • Greenville Area
  • Grove City Area
  • Hermitage
  • Jamestown Area
  • Lakeview
  • Mercer Area
  • Reynolds
  • Sharon City
  • Sharpsville Area
  • West Middlesex Area
  • Titusville Area
  • Warren County

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

The grants were awarded by the School Safety and Security Committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) as part of the School Safety and Security Grant Program, which was created by lawmakers in 2018.

“Because there is still so much work to be done on school safety, it is disappointing that, in these times, the governor has proposed a $45 million cut from the program for the next fiscal year –a 75 percent reduction in this program– which I will work hard with my colleagues to restore,” Sen. Brooks said.   


Contact:  Diane McNaughton  (717) 787-1322

Back to Top